The time of my life. On Monday 10/11/10, my brother, sister, my son and I celebrated my 60th birthday by jumping for the 1st time. All of us agree our experience was exceptional. I don't know skydiving but I do know service. Everyone without exception were great!Each of us, including our spectators were treated professionally and with respect, they instilled confidence at the same time making it so much fun. A special thanks to Tom and Nick. You guys were terrific. You made me feel as comfortable as possible(considering) but most of all, y'all made it so enjoyable you made me laugh and I had a birthday I will never forget. Thanks so much. I hope to see all of you again.
Great customer service, they took care of us from the time we walked in the door to the time we left. My wife, son, daughter and I jumped this weekend for the first time to celebrate my daughters 18th birthday and I am so happy we jumped at Skydive San Marcos! The staff was friendly and courteous and the instructors couldn’t have done a better job, we all felt at ease the entire time and knew we were in good hands. Thanks to the staff at San Marcos, you all are great!
By the way, our show time was 10 a.m. we showed up 15 minutes early to fill out the forms, had that done and were getting suited up by 10:10, in the air 10:20 for a 20 min flight and back on the ground 10:47 as recorded by all the pictures they took for us. Very well organized business.
Worst Experience Ever. We paid 200 bucks to skydive and we made reservations. We get to the place and they checked us in and had us wait for nearly 4 hours! We then get called back and our tandem instructors were very rude. They made us feel as though they are doing us favors by them being there. We asked to speak to a manager and for the last names of people and they refused to give us any information. No training was given until in the plane. The staff were high and smelled as if they had gotten high right before our jump.
HORRIBLE PLACE TO SKYDIVE!!!. the people were extremely rude and very unprofessional!!! we waited for at least 4 hours,, they were unorganized and lacked people skills...they will NOT GIVE YOU ANY TRAINING or instructions before you skydive..2 of the "instructors" were consuming alcohol..I had to call the national skydiving association on them.. ..the worst experience ever!!!!!
Tandem MIll. This place has reduced itself to a tandem mill. Tandems are herded thru like cattle and sport jumpers are just a nuisance. Our last visit was a sunny Saturday, and there were only 5 sport jumpers. Tandems were going 8 per load. The staff was rude. Sad, this used to be a fun dropzone.
Recommend (especially if you plan to learn there).
I'm modifying a previous entry because upon reflection I believe the rudeness I perceived was actually due to the amount of customers they were working with.
There were a few extremely nice staffers and some very friendly fun jumpers (and some not so friendly fun jumpers). A bit cliquish but I'm sure that's probably the norm at many dropzones (as opposed to where I normally jump which is super mellow).
All in all, I'm going to go back and give it a few more jumps and might update this further. There's no denying that the organization and twin otter make this a place to try.
Response to walk-ins and reservations. In response to chlewis: It is our policy that everyone try to schedule a reservation 2-3 days in advance before the day that they would like to jump. We do also accept walk-ins on the weekends, as long as our reservations do not exceed what can be done in one day. This is why you were told that you did not have to have a set time to come and jump, but you cannot expect to be serviced without any wait time knowing that there will be others there that have taken the time to schedule their jumps. You were informed of the possible wait, and told that you could come out or schedule a reservation for a different day. In these past few Saturdays, we have had an exceptionally high volume of tandems, and unfortunately have had to refuse service to any and all walk-ins. If you do call back to schedule a reservation in advance and you are told to call back during the week, it is simply because we are extremely busy at that time, and would like for you to call back when we can spend more time with you and answer all of your questions. We are sorry for what may seem unorganized or rude, but we can only accomodate so many people in one day, and if you would like a guaranteed slot then a reservation should have been made, regardless of whether you are told it is required or not.
We called to find out if we needed reservations and they said "no." We called the day we planned on diving and they said they were booked that we need a reservation. We told them they said we didn't have to have one and they said we could come out, but it would take possibly 3 hours. I called back to make a reservation for the following day and the woman said I would have to call back during the week that they were busy. I told her I wanted one for the next day and she said I'd have to call back.
They were so rude that we decided to not give them out business. Instead, we drove to Rosharon once we got back to Houston and skydived at Skydive Spaceland. They were fantastic! Professional, helped us remain calm, made it a fun experience... can't say anything bad about them! Matter of fact, I already purchased my next dive I enjoyed it so much! 1800SKYDIVE!
Editorial Review. Offering skydiviving lessons in San Marcos with instructors attached to students.
I did this with 4 other friends in 2003 or 2004. All did tandem. It was great. The guys you were strapped to adjusted to you based on your fright level. Me I was scared, so he just did a straight jump. Som of the others guided the paracute on the fall &/or landing. One guy had his tandem guy swing them in circles.
Good place to go I would recommend it. And for one of us it was his 3rd tandem, all at the Skdive SanMarcos, so he basically got to do everthing himself.
Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!